
R22-06 RECORDS, REPORTS AND FEES 

(a)  The provider shall maintain for a minimum of 36 months records that demonstrate how each lessee's allocated 

costs were calculated for electric service, as well as any other electric service-related fees charged to each lessee. 

(b)  All records required to be maintained by the provider pursuant to section (a) shall be kept at the onsite 

management office or office(s) of the provider in North Carolina, or shall be made available at its onsite 

management office in North Carolina upon request, and shall be available during regular business hours for 

examination by the Commission or Public Staff or their duly authorized representatives. Within three business days 

after a written request to the provider, a lessee may examine the records pertaining to the lessee's account during 

regular business hours and may obtain a copy of those records at a reasonable cost, which shall not exceed 25¢ per 

page. However, if a provider does not have an onsite management office at the multi-unit complex or in close 

proximity to the leased single-family dwelling, then the provider shall in good faith, upon written request, establish 

with the lessee a mutually-acceptable arrangement for the lessee to examine the records pertaining to the electric 

service for the leased dwelling unit occupied or previously occupied by the lessee. In the event that a provider and 

lessee are unable to reach agreement within 10 business days, the lessee may contact the Public Staff – North 

Carolina Utilities Commission, Consumer Service Division, at (866) 380-9816 (toll-free) or (919) 733-9277, or may 

write to the Public Staff – North Carolina Utilities Commission, Consumer Services Division, at 4326 Mail Service 

Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-4300 for assistance in resolving the dispute. If the Public Staff determines 

that it cannot reasonably resolve the disagreement, the matter shall be referred to the Commission. 

(c)  Providers shall not be required to file an annual report to the Commission as required by Rule R1-32. 

(d)  Providers shall pay a regulatory fee and file a regulatory fee report as required by Rule R15-1. 

(e)  Special reports shall also be made concerning any particular matter upon request by the Commission. 

 

(NCUC Docket No. ER-100, Sub 0, 08/17/11; NCUC Docket No. ER-100, Sub 0, 04/19/12; NCUC Docket No. 

ER-100, Sub 0, 03/31/14; NCUC Docket No. ER-100, Sub 4; 04/24/2018.). 

 


